Home » Finished Objects » Digging

Digging

English: Western woman in Bangladesh wearing a...

English: Western woman in Bangladesh wearing a yellow churidar (tight, long trousers) and dupatta (scarf) with a green kameez (loose, long top). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Western woman in Hyderabad wearing a green cot...

Western woman in Hyderabad wearing a green cotton salwar kameez. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I’ve had quite a hiatus from sewing. I moved almost 3 months ago and have just now dug out some of my sewing stuff, but nothing is set up yet. And I didn’t sew all summer because of the whole buying/selling a house thing. I hope to get my sewing space up and running soon and start using up the tons of fabric I have acquired. Although, I will probably keep on acquiring more. And more. And yet even more.

I used to be a good writer, but I’m out of practice. I’m always in a hurry and don’t feel relaxed enough to actually think of what to write. But I digress…

I found these random photos of white women in salwar kameez that popped in WordPress as related images. Whatever.

While digging around, I found a couple more salwar kameez sets that I have sewn. They are not in my size. I just chose arbitrary measurements. I would like to be able to custom stitch salwar kameez for people, but I need to practice. I know how to make my size, but other people’s I’m not so sure about.

The black set is fabric that I purchased from ebay. The scarf was wrapped up in a tube with string. I finally took the string off today, and I saw that it created a ripple effect. It really is quite pretty, though I’m not sure how long it would last. The kameez is in sherwani style, which is men’s wear.

ImageImage

This green set was given to me in Bangladesh by some of my husband’s relatives. The fabric feels like bed sheets. Unfortunately there probably wasn’t enough fabric to make me a set, so I just sewed one in size small. I tried to use a technique for the neckline that I learned from my sewing lady on YouTube.

ImageImage

This turquoise, jade green set was fabric that I purchased from ebay that was not meant to be a salwar kameez. I had purchased 4 scarves and discovered that one of the scarves matched the fabric nicely. Unfortunately the neckline is kind of weird. I hope I can fix it, because I want to sell this.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

